IIHF World Junior Championships Tickets Available Now

The 2019 World Junior Ice Hockey Championships are in full swing. The host country is Canada, and the specific cities are Vancouver and Victoria. The venues are the Rogers Arena and the Save-On Foods Memorial Centre. The finale will unfold on January 5, and tickets are still available to the event that represents the biggest Under 20 hockey gathering in all of the globe.

Canada to Host

This is the 43rd version of the Ice Hockey World Junior Championship, and it is the 13th time that Canada has hosted the event. It is big throughout the Junior hockey community in the United States and Canada, and dozens of top-flight NHL players have showed off their skills in prior IIHF World U20 Championships.

This year’s event features a total of 10 teams, ranging from the United States and Canada to Russia, Finland, Denmark and Kazakhstan. The US and Canada have put themselves in a good position so far with two victories in Group play. Russia is also 2-0, as is Sweden heading into the Group B showdowns in the upcoming days.

Canada vs Russia

The most recent results were highlighted by a convincing 5-1 Canada victory over Czechoslovakia in Group A play at Rogers Arena. Finland beat Slovakia by the same count of 5-1, and Switzerland knocked off Denmark 4-0. The most competitive game by far unfolded in Victoria at the Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre when Sweden eclipsed the US in overtime by a score of 5-4. This puts Sweden at the top of Group B and the USA in second place, even though the stars and stripes have put 14 goals in the back of the net – just a few short of Finland, Kazakhstan, and Slovakia’s combined goal total.

Canada and Russia are still undefeated in Group A, and their upcoming showdown in the Rogers Arena on the afternoon/evening of December 31 will go a long way toward determining exactly what happens in their highly-competitive group gathering. On the same day, the United States will take on Finland. The US will have a chance to knock out the Nordic squad and put themselves in championship contention.

U.S. Takes the Win

This tournament began all the way back in 1977, but the Under-20 Championship became a very serious and highly-anticipated event as recent as 2010. The United States took the Gold that year, and Canada took Silver. The winners in the following years in chronological order have been Russia, Sweden, the United States once again, Finland, Canada, Finland for a second time, the United States for the third time and, most recently, Canada for a second time. Their 2018 victory over Sweden was a clear proclamation and announcement to the hockey world that the squad is ready for the next global tournament.

Canada is hosting this year, and they will do so again in 2021 and 2024. Like many popular and legitimate global sporting tournaments, the IIHF World Championship plans their events several years in advance. The 2018-19 Canadian Junior Squad has hammered through their opponents, scoring a total of 17 goals and giving up just two. The opposite end of the spectrum is the team from Denmark, which has lost three games in the tournament and scored zero goals while relinquishing a total of 22.

Get Your Tickets

There are teams separating themselves from the pack other than the United States and Canada, including a talented Finland group that has gone 2-1 while outscoring their opponents 11-3. There are a lot of stories yet to be told in this tournament, and all fans interested in purchasing 2019 IIHF Tickets to upcoming matches can easily do so now.